Chapel Hill, April 19th

Talk about the songs, the shows, and anything else DBT related here.

Moderators: Jonicont, mark lynn, Maluca3, Tequila Cowboy, BigTom, CooleyGirl, olwiggum

Lone Wolf1

Chapel Hill, April 19th

Post by Lone Wolf1 »

anybody been to the Cat's Cradle?

Kudzu Guillotine

Re: Chapel Hill, April 19th

Post by Kudzu Guillotine »

Lone Wolf1 wrote:anybody been to the Cat's Cradle?

Yes.

Lone Wolf1

Post by Lone Wolf1 »

nice? shitty? good sound, bad sound?

Tyler
Site Admin

Post by Tyler »

Decentish, from the one show I saw there years ago. Kinda narrow and deep is what I remember. Flat floor.

Kudzu Guillotine

Lone Wolf1 wrote:nice? shitty? good sound, bad sound?

I'm no expert in those areas (meaning the sound) but it's always sounded good to me in there. One fairly major change that's taken place in recent months is that the Cradle has undergone some renovations in order to make it a larger space. These include removing some seating areas along the right hand side of the venue, as well as the raised area where the soundboard is located. There is a bench that runs along the left hand side of the venue as well as a smaller one on the right hand side. They also tore out part of the ceiling to put in sprinklers. That obviously doesn't have anything to do with increasing the capacity but it gives it the feel of being a larger space. They've also moved the stage and removed the VIP seating area that used to be adjacent to the right hand side of it. Because of this, you now have to enter from the right hand side of the venue rather than the front. They also removed the wall from behind the soundboard area. Now, there's just a curtain there. Some have said these changes have robbed the Cradle of it's character. I agree but it wouldn't cause me to avoid it. It's just that now it has more of an open warehouse feel and there are less places to sit. I've always enjoyed seeing shows there and if weren't for the Cradle, I'm sure that some of the more wel